Arquitectura Viva
Wednesday, September 18, 2019

Zhang Ke, Alvar Aalto Medal 2017

The Chinese architect Zhang Fe, founder of the firm ZAO/standardarchitecture, has been distinguished with the Alvar Aalto Medal, given by the Museum of Finnish Architecture, the Finnish Association of Architects (SAFA), the Architectural Society, the Alvar Aalto Foundation, and the City of Helsinki. The jury, chaired by Toshiko Mori, praises his resistance to China’s rapid urbanization as well as his efforts to offer a different viewpoint. Born in 1970, Zhang Ke uses building materials and techniques rooted in local tradition, upholding conservation over demolition and pursuing harmony of landscape and architecture.

The medal has been awarded intermittently thirteen times since 1967, in recognition of entire careers of architects and their contributions to the field. Previous winners include James Stirling, Jørn Utzon, Tadao Ando, Álvaro Siza, Glenn Murcutt, Steven Holl, and Nieto Sobejano.
AV Monografías 217 - UNDURRAGA DEVÉS AV Monographs
analyzes in each issue a theme related to a city, a country, a tendency or an architect, with articles by leading specialists complemented by commentary on works and projects illustrated in detail. Published bilingually, with Spanish and English texts placed side by side.
Arquitectura Viva 216 - E2A Arquitectura Viva
covers current topics, taking stock of recent trends in set sections: cover story, works and projects, art and culture, books, technique and innovation. From 2013 on, monthly and bilingual, with Spanish and English texts printed side by side.
AV Proyectos 93 - SERGISON BATES AV Proyectos
is the third member of the AV family: a bilingual publication essentially focussed on design projects (with special attention on competitions and construction details), heretofore only laterally dealt with in the other two magazines.
Editorial Arquitectura Viva SL - Calle de Aniceto Marinas, 32 - E-28008 Madrid, España - Ph: (+34) 915 487 317 - Fax: (+34) 915 488 191 - - Latest News in RSS